Newsletter #2 – november 2023

Past seminar

Friday, December 1st 2023
(10:00 AM New York ; Boston / 3:00 PM London / 4:00 PM Paris / 5PM Johannesburg / 8:30 PM Kolkata)

Professor Francesca Orsini talked about her latest book, East of Delhi. Multilingual Literary Culture and World Literature (Oxford University Press, 2023), followed by an open discussion.

Zoom link:
https://cnrs.zoom.us/j/93605382197?pwd=dmdOY0UxWVhjMW5UejMyRGRkRW1QQT09

Meeting ID: 936 0538 2197
Password: aXFQ3Y

Next workshops and conferences

Workshop organized by Josephine McDonagh (UChicago) at the University of Chicago Center in Paris, January 18-19 2024, on

Print Cultures Before the Postcolonial

Focusing on the notion of “miscellany” this workshop will explore the aesthetic and political dimensions of “cut and paste”, assemblage and other miscellany-related practices and technologies as forms of cultural expression and means of resistance in colonial situations and their impact in post-colonial contexts. More information here.

Conference organized by Laetitia Zecchini (CNRS) at the University of Chicago Center in Paris, July 5-6 2024, on

Law and Print in Postcolonial Contexts: Censorship, Copyright and Piracy

This conference addresses the relationship between print  and legislation, censorship and copyright in postcolonial contexts. It aims to explore the role of colonial and postcolonial institutions, of the state and other gate-keepers in the regulation of print; the forms and practices of cultural regulation and censorship particular to certain postcolonial contexts; as well as the many alternative, informal or interstitial publishing networks, spaces and practices operating outside official (or monitored) circuits. More information here.

Recent and forthcoming events of IRN members

Conference“Négritude, modernité et l’avenir des études africaines”, lecture by Cheikh Thiam (Amherst College) ; “Senghor, Cheikh Anta Diop et l’histoire politique du Sénégal indépendant” lecture by Martin Mourre (IMAf), December 13th (3PM GMT – 4PM CET), at the Ecole Normale Supérieure (Paris) and online.

For further information, please contact the seminar team, Claire Riffard and Sébastien Heiniger: senghor.item.ucad@gmail.com.

New book series: « AfricaE Gems », collection launched by Maëline Le Lay (CNRS), with Marie-Aude Fouéré (EHESS – IMAF), is an upcoming book series that seeks to (re)discover texts written or published in different languages – particularly African languages – that were previously difficult to access or find but have a specific literary, sociological, historical or political relevance. All proposals for texts and documents will be warmly welcomed.

Interactive mapping projectSituated Ecopoetic Anthology of Arts and Literatures in Africa launched by Xavier Garnier (Université Sorbonne-Nouvelle), to provide an online cartography of ecologically threatened places on the African continent and how literatures and the arts engage with these places.

Other forthcoming events

Workshop: “Modernist Print Cultures of the South: A Workshop on Methods and Archives”,  co-convened by Andrew van der Vlies and Benjamin Madden, December 14th, University of Adelaïde.

For more information please contact
andrew.vandervlies@adelaide.edu.au.

 

Other interesting publications

HYMAN, Aaron M., MUNDY, Barbara E., “The Colonial Archive and its Fictions”, Colonial Latin American Review, vol. 32, Issue 3, 2023, p. 312-344.

 

 

KEESE, Alexander, URBANO, Annalisa, Researching Post-Independence Africa in Regional Archives: Possibilities and Limits in Benin, Cabo Verde, Ghana and Congo-BrazzavilleCambridge, Cambridge University Press 2023.

PICCINI, Jon, “‘Thinking in Papua New Guinean Terms’: the Sensitive Files Case of 1972 and Australia’s Migrated Archive” [online], History Workshop Journal, 2023.

SALAZKINA, Masha, World Socialist Cinema. Alliances, Affinities, and Solidarities in the Global Cold War, Berkeley, University of California Press, 2023.

 

 

 

TOMAN, Cheryl, “Changing Tides in Contemporary Middle Eastern Literature: The Works of Alexandra Chreiteh and Fadi Zaghmout’, The Comparatist, Vol. 47, October 2023, pp. 192-211.

WEBB, Jack, “Readers, Writers, and Riots: Race, Print Culture, and the Public in Liverpool 8 in the Early 1980s” [online, open access], Journal of British Studies, 2023, pp. 1-26.

Other news

Please find here an interview of Laetitia Zecchini (in French) about the scientific objectives of the IRN on Postcolonial Print Cultures in a CNRS newsletter (La Gazette de THALIM).

Reminder: please send all IRNPPC news that you would like to promote (concerning publications, jobs, conferences, etc) to Albert, our web administrator: aconstantpiot@gmail.com.

Copyright © International Research Network on Postcolonial Print Cultures 2023, All rights reserved.